The Alice Network

The Alice Network

Regular price $16.99
/
Shipping calculated at checkout.

1947. In the chaotic aftermath of World War II, American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She’s also nursing a desperate hope that her beloved cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive. So when Charlie’s parents banish her to Europe to have her “little problem” taken care of, Charlie breaks free and heads to London, determined to find out what happened to the cousin she loves like a sister. 

1915. A year into the Great War, Eve Gardiner burns to join the fight against the Germans and unexpectedly gets her chance when she’s recruited to work as a spy. Sent into enemy-occupied France, she’s trained by the mesmerizing Lili, code name Alice, the “queen of spies,” who manages a vast network of secret agents right under the enemy’s nose.  

Thirty years later, haunted by the betrayal that ultimately tore apart the Alice Network, Eve spends her days drunk and secluded in her crumbling London house. That is until a young American barges in uttering a name Eve hasn’t heard in decades, and launches them both on a mission to find the truth . . . no matter where it leads.

The Alice Network has history, suspense, romance and women kicking butt. I couldn’t put it down.” -- NPR Books

“This fast-paced story offers courageous heroines, villains you love to hate, and dramatic life-or-death stakes. A compelling blend of historical fiction, mystery, and women’s fiction, Quinn’s complex story and engaging characters have something to offer just about everyone.”  -- Library Journal (starred review)

“Amazing historical fiction... a must read!” -- Historical Novel Society

“Kate Quinn announces herself as one of the best artists of the genre. The plotting is seamless, the pace breathtaking, and the prose is both vivid and laced with just the right amount of details. Fans of historical fiction, spy fiction and thrilling drama will love every moment.” -- BookPage

“Lovingly crafted and brimming with details, readers are sure to be held in Quinn’s grip watching as the characters evolve. Powerful reading you can’t put down!” -- RT Book Reviews (top pick)

“Kate Quinn delivers an enthralling tale filled with breath-taking narrative that will make the reader feel as if they’re in the back of the roadster, riding along with the raucous Eve and courageous Charlie on their clandestine adventures. Suspenseful and engrossing, THE ALICE NETWORK is a must-read!” -- Heather Webb, Author of Rodin's Lover

“Kate Quinn strums the chords of every human emotion with two storylines that race over continents and through decades to converge in one explosive ending.” -- Marci Jefferson, author of Enchantress of Paris

“The Alice Network... perfectly balances a propulsive plot, faultlessly observed period detail, and a cast of characters so vividly drawn that I half expected to blink and see them standing in front of me. This is historical fiction at its best--thrilling, affecting, revelatory.” -- Jennifer Robson, international bestselling author of Moonlight Over Paris

“Both funny and heartbreaking, this epic journey of two courageous women is an unforgettable tale of little-known wartime glory and sacrifice. Quinn knocks it out of the park with this spectacular book!” -- Stephanie Dray, author of America's First Daughter

“A powerful story filled with daring and intrigue, The Alice Network will hook readers from the first page and take them on an unforgettable journey.” -- Chanel Cleeton, author of Next Year in Havana

“Line for line, one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. Loyal and brave, the women of THE ALICE NETWORK are brilliantly revealed by Kate Quinn’s exquisite storytelling and prose. I loved every word! A must read for fans of WWI and WWII fiction.” -- Renee Rosen, author of Windy City Blues

“In The Alice Network, the lives of two indomitable women intertwine in a plot crackling with suspense. We root for Charlie and Eve, and cheer when they triumph.” -- NPR.org


About the Author

Kate Quinn is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of historical fiction. A native of southern California, she attended Boston University where she earned a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Classical Voice. She has written four novels in the Empress of Rome Saga, and two books in the Italian Renaissance, before turning to the 20th century with The Alice Network and The Huntress. All have been translated into multiple languages. Kate and her husband now live in San Diego with two rescue dogs.

hi friends! 

we're lauren & mike. we own this little piece of the internet where we sell women's clothing, accessories, home goods & more.. 

so what's our story? we met 12+ years ago, when mike was a complete jerk to me at my summer internship. what started off as a contentious relationship soon turned into love. we've been married for over a decade and we're parents to four little men, Oliver, Oscar, Olsen and Otis. 

in our spare time we love to travel, play golf and watch movies.

we started this business so that we could take our oldest two boys to Disney. since then, l've been able to quit my job to run our business full time.  it allows me complete flexibility to take care of our family, while helping all of our customers find exactly what they need to feel beautiful.

we're beyond grateful for the opportunities that this business has afforded us, but more importantly, we're thankful for the tiny little platform it has given us.  since the inception of Shop Lauren and Mike we have been able to raise thousands of dollars for organizations and customers that are near and dear to our heart.  

we've also created an amazing little community (vip.shoplaurenandmike.com) over on the Facebook, that allows us to connect with so many of our customers each and every day. when we started Shop Lauren and Mike never in our wildest dreams did we think that we would have such wonderful customers that became such great friends. 

we feel beyond blessed that you're here and are so grateful for the opportunity to get to know you.

please if you ever need anything, do not hesitate to reach out to lauren@shoplaurenandmike.com or mike@shoplaurenandmike.com. 

xoxo

Refund policy

We are happy to issue a full refund to the method of payment used to purchase (no exchanges or store credit)  if contacted within 7 days of receipt of item and if the item still retains its original tags (if applicable) and packaging. The return shipping cost is the responsibility of the customer.

If you need to initiate a return with us, please email us at mike@shoplaurenandmike.com and we will reply to you with our super easy Return Authorization Form. We will not be able to process returns that do not include our Return Authroization Form.

Returns may take up to one week from the day we receive the item back to process.

Mystery items, items purchased using a coupon code, capsule collections and sale items that end in .99 are all FINAL SALE. Other items listed as FINAL SALE are also not returnable. 

 

Shipping policy

Shipping is $5 for one item & $8 for two or more.  We work hard to get your packages shipped out next day, but sometimes life happens (hello four (4) boys!), so we ask that you give us 2-3 business days to get your items shipped. 

Depending on the size, weight & destination of the package, the order will ship either USPS First Class, USPS Priority, or FedEx Home Delivery. You will receive tracking information as soon as it ships!

Any questions about shipping, please contact mike@shoplaurenandmike.com.